Contact us

Use this form to send us a message, or email

Get in touch. Call 01963 31693 Contact us
Working with the community

Committees and Appointments

All Meetings take place in the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Market Place, Wincanton, BA9 9LD, unless otherwise stated:

Working Parties - Working Parties do not have any delegated decision making powers.  Their role is to obtain information, including cost implications where applicable, and to discuss and agree recommendations, for presentation in the form of a report back to Full Council.

Committees - All decisions taken by committees have to be ratified at the next meeting of the Committee, before they can be implemented, to ensure that all members of the Town Council have the opportunity to comment on every decision taken.

Ratification at Full Council - The reports of all committee meetings are presented to the next meeting of the Full Council for ratification.  Any member who is not in agreement, and did not participate in the decision making process, can identify the reasons for objecting to the decision taken and table a proposal requesting that the matter should be referred back to the committee for further consideration.  The proposal will need to be seconded and supported by a majority of the members present for this to happen.

Full Council Planning – 2nd Monday of the month, 7pm

Full Council Meeting – 4th Monday of the month, 7pm

The Annual Parish Meeting – takes place in April and will start at 6pm

The Annual Meeting of the Council – takes place in May, 7pm

Councillors Shelbourn-Barrow and Tudgay are ex-officio members of all committees.


Finance Committee - Councillors Cole, Hix, Ralph, Shelbourn-Barrow, Thomas

Open Spaces Committee – Councillors Anderson, Ellard, Hix, Power, Smith, Tudgay, Walters

Personnel Committee - Councillors Hix, Ralph, Shelbourn-Barrow, Vagg, Walters

Planning Committee - Councillors Thomas (Chair),Tudgay, Greening, Power, Shelbourn-Barrow, Smith, Thomas, Walters

Town Hall Regeneration Committee - Councillors Cole, Ellard, Ralph, Shelbourn-Barrow,Tudgay, Thomas, Vagg

Car Park Committee - Councillors Atherton, Shelbourn-Barrow, Thomas, Vagg


Governance Working Group - Councillors Shelbourn-Barrow, Greening, Vagg, Ralph and Power

WEEP Working Group - Councillors Greening, Tudgay, Ralph and Power

Wincanton For The Future - Councillors Shelbourn-Barrow, Vagg, Smith and Ralph

Christmas Working Group - Councillors Greening, Thomas and Tudgay

Community Development - Youth Outreach - Councillors Shelbourn-Barrow, Power, Ralph, Vagg and Smith


Duties of Representatives

Balsam Centre – Councillor Greening

Citizens Advice Bureau – Councillor Vagg

Community Accessible Transport (CAT) and the WINIBUS - Councillor Anderson

Friends of Wincanton Community Hospital - Councillor Shelbourn-Barrow

MHA Community South Somerset – Councillor Walters

Memorial Hall – Councillor Ralph 

Market Towns Investment Group (MTIG) - Councillors Ralph and Power

Planning Councillor – Councillor Thomas

Regeneration Board - Councillors Shelbourn-Barrow and Vagg

Tourist Information – Deputy Town Clerk

Wincanton Chamber of Trade/Commerce – Councillors Power and Greening

Wincanton Museum – Councillor Vagg 

Wincanton Schools – Councillors Greening and Power 

Wincanton Sports Ground – Councillors Ralph and Power 

Wincanton United Charities - Councillor Tudgay